Afghanistan announce strong team for Asia Cup...

Afghanistan announce strong team for Asia Cup

 Sports Desk

 Published: 08:18 PM, 16 August 2022  

Afghanistan announce strong team for Asia Cup- File Photo

Afghanistan announce strong team for Asia Cup- File Photo

Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) called up veteran allrounder Samiullah Shinwari and spinner Noor Ahmad to the 17-member Asia Cup squad.

Shinwari's last appearance for Afghanistan was in the T20I format more than two and a half years ago against Ireland in March 2020 just around the COVID-19 outbreak. He returns to the national fold for the tournament to be played in UAE from August 27 to September 11 in T20 format.

In the current squad that's engaged in a bilateral series against Ireland, Shinwari replaces Sharafuddin Ashraf, who is now a part of the reserve players group for the event, along with Qais Ahmad and Nijat Masoud. Additionally, the left-arm wrist-spinner Noor Ahmad, who was replaced by Mujeeb Ur Rahman for the Ireland trip, has also found his way back to the national side.

"The Asia Cup is an important event for us and, as such, we have picked our best available players for the event," said chief selector Noor Malikzai. "Samiullah Shinwari is in very good form and can give further impetus to the batting department, which already boasts Ibrahim Zadran, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Najibullah Zadran and Mohammad Nabi. Shinwari has not played any international match since March 2020, but he has done well in the recently held Shpageeza Cricket League 2022 and demonstrated that he is a good option to strengthen our middle order."

The Afghanistan team is currently in Ireland for a five-match T20I series and will depart for UAE after Wednesday's series decider.

At the Asia Cup, Afghanistan are placed in Group B alongside Sri Lanka (August 27) and Bangladesh (August 30) from where the top two will progress. The Super Four stages kick off on September 3.

Afghanistan Squad: Mohammad Nabi (C), Najibullah Zadran (VC), Afsar Zazai (wk), Azmatullah Omarzai, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Mujib ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Rashid Khan and Samiullah Shinwari.

Reserves: Nijat Masoud, Qais Ahmad, and Sharafuddin Ashraf