4th T20I: India won by 59 runs...

4th T20I: India won by 59 runs

 Sports Desk daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 01:08 PM, 7 August 2022   Updated: 02:00 PM, 7 August 2022



India have secured the five-match T20I series against the West Indies with one match in hand. India defeated West Indies by 59 runs in the fourth match of the series on Saturday night. As a result, after winning the series, Rohit Sharma’s team was leading by 3-1.

India have not lost a T20I series against the West Indies since 2018. Team India has won five consecutive bilateral series since 2018. 

West Indies won the toss and elected to bowl first at Lauderhill, Florida. Captain Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav gave India a flying start with the bat. Rohit-Surya scored 53 runs in just 28 balls. Rohit was more dangerous in the pair.

Rohit scored 33 runs in 16 balls with 2 fours and 3 sixes at a strike rate of over 200. Inform Surya could not score more than 24 runs off 14 balls. Deepak Hooda and Rishav Pant crossed the team's 100 runs after losing 2 openers out of 61 runs. They added 47 runs off 35 balls in the third wicket pair.

Huda scored 21 off 19 balls and Punt scored 44 off 31 balls. Hard-hitter Dinesh Karthik returned for 6 runs, but Akshar Patel turned India’s run wheel quickly in the end. He scored 20 runs off 8 balls with 1 four and 2 sixes.

An unbeaten 30 runs from 23 balls came from the bat of Sanju Samson. As a result, India got a huge collection of 191 runs for 5 wickets in 20 overs. This is India’s highest team run without a batsman’s half-century. McCoy-Joseph of West Indies took 2 wickets each. 

West Indies could not get off to a good start with a target of 192 runs to survive in the series. They lost 2 wickets for 22 runs. Kyle Myers and captain Nicholas Pooran tried to cope with the early shock. They scored 27 runs off 10 balls in counter attack.

Puran was in devastating form with 3 sixes and 1 four with the bat. But after playing 8 balls, he got 24 runs and fell into the trap of run out. None of the West Indies batsmen could play a big innings after Pooran’s dismissal.

At the end, the Caribbean were bowled out for 132 runs. Rovman Powell scored the maximum 24 runs as the captain. Indian pacer Arshdeep Singh took 3 wickets and Avesh Khan 2 wickets. Avesh became the man of the match. 

Today, India and West Indies will play the fifth and last T20I of the series at the same venue.