Five more countries awarded ODI status...

Five more countries awarded ODI status

 Sports Desk

 Published: 02:45 PM, 26 May 2022  

Logo of International Cricket Council (ICC); File Photo

Logo of International Cricket Council (ICC); File Photo

Five countries have received ODI (one-day cricket) status for improving by playing well regularly. In women’s cricket, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) have been accorded ODI status by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the world cricket body.

According to the ICC, from now on, their rankings will be determined by the performance of these five countries in one-day international cricket. At the same time, these five countries have a chance to qualify for the 2025 Women’s World Cup.

Earlier, 11 countries had ICC ODI status in women’s cricket. That number now rose to 16 this time.

Australia are currently the number one ICC ODI team in women’s cricket. South Africa and England are in second and third place respectively. India is fourth on the list. Bangladesh ranks seventh.

At a glance at ICC Women’s ODI ranking —

  1. Australia - 167
  2. South Africa - 125
  3. England - 118
  4. India - 99
  5. New Zealand - 98
  6. West Indies - 89
  7. Bangladesh - 78
  8. Pakistan - 67
  9. Ireland - 48
  10. Sri Lanka - 47
  11. Zimbabwe - 0.