Sri Lankan team arrives in Dhaka to play two Tests...

Sri Lankan team arrives in Dhaka to play two Tests

 Sports Desk

 Published: 03:03 PM, 8 May 2022   Updated: 03:17 PM, 8 May 2022

Sri Lankan team arrives in Dhaka to play two Tests; Photo: Daily Bangladesh

Sri Lankan team arrives in Dhaka to play two Tests; Photo: Daily Bangladesh

The Sri Lanka Cricket Team arrived in Bangladesh for a two-match Test series which is the part of ICC World Test Championship. The plane carrying the Sri Lankan team landed at Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport in Dhaka at 12.15 pm, one hour late from the scheduled time today (Sunday).

Sri Lanka who are at the fifth position in the World Test Championship point table will be playing this series under their newly appointed coach Chris Silverwood. Bangladesh is at eighth position in the table at this moment. 

Sri Lanka brought up eight changes to their Test side, making it an almost a new look.

Uncapped wicketkeeper-batter Kamil Mishara, spin-bowling allrounder Kamindu Mendis, left-arm quick Dilshan Madushanka, and legspinner Suminda Lakshan are among eight changes to Sri Lanka's Test squad for their tour.

Returning to the Test fold alongside them are batter Oshada Fernando, allrounder Ramesh Mendis and fast bowlers Kasun Rajitha and Asitha Fernando.

There will be no bio-bubble for this series but the players will have to go through frequent Covid-19 tests, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) confirmed. Sri Lankan players are expected to undergo their first Covid-19 test once they land in Dhaka.

Bangladesh team is scheduled to leave Dhaka this evening for Chattogram. They will have a practice camp in the port city of Chattogram ahead of the first Test at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium from May 15, Sri Lanka will stay in Dhaka to play a two-day practice match at BKSP from May 10-11. They will leave for Chattogram on May 12.

The second Test is at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka from May 23-27. 

Sri Lanka full squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (capt), Kamil Mishara, Oshada Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Kamindu Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella, Chamika Karunaratne, Ramesh Mendis, Suminda Lakshan, Kasun Rajitha, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Dilshan Madushanka, Praveen Jayawickrama and Lasith Embuldeniya.