Sylhet Sunrisers beat Dhaka by 7 wickets...

Sylhet Sunrisers beat Dhaka by 7 wickets

 Sports Desk

 Published: 03:56 PM, 25 January 2022   Updated: 04:07 PM, 25 January 2022

Sylhet Sunrisers beat Dhaka by 7 wickets

Sylhet Sunrisers beat Dhaka by 7 wickets

Sylhet Sunrisers beat Minister Group Dhaka by 7 wickets to register first victory in the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2022 at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium today. 

Batting first Dhaka all out for 100 in 18.4 overs and Sylhet chased down the target easily losing only three wickets and 18 balls to spare. 

Lendl Simmons and Anamul Haque opened the innings for Sylhet. They added only 21 runs for the first wicket stand before Simmons (16) dismissed to Mashrafe Bin Mortaza who was back in the field after a long break. 

Anamul Haque Bijoy and Mohammad Mithun shared 38 runs between them for the second wickets stand before the former was caught by Tamim Iqbal off Hasan Murad in 10.4 overs. Bijoy (45 off 45) also went out by Mashrafe when Sylhet were 2 runs shy from victory.

Mashrafe was the most successful bowler for Dhaka with 2 for 21. 

Earlier, after losing the toss Dhaka were asked to bat first and they lost openers, Tamim Iqbal and Shahzad, for 9. Soon after they reduced to 17/3 when Jahurul Islam (4) also went out cheaply. 

Skipper Mahmudullah and Naim Sheikh took the helm on their shoulder. They added 40 runs for the fourth wickets stand before Naim (15 off 30) was dismissed following a wrong decision of the umpire. Andre Russell also went out following a wrong decision of the umpire. 

No other batter could not stand against the Sylhet bowlers but skipper Mahmudullh Riyad who scored team highest 33 off 26. Besides, Shuvagata Hom made 21 runs. 

Nazmul Hossain Apu took 4 wickets for 18 while Taskin Ahmed bagged three for 22 and Sohag Gazi took 2 for 17.