Dhaka register first win in BPL...

Dhaka register first win in BPL

 Sports Desk daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 04:23 PM, 24 January 2022   Updated: 04:23 PM, 24 January 2022

Minister Group Dhaka players celebrating after taking wicket

Minister Group Dhaka players celebrating after taking wicket

Minister Group Dhaka beat Fortune Barishal by four wickets to register first victory in the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) 2022 at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium today.

Batting first at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, Barishal post 129 runs for the loss of 8 wickets in the stipulated 20 overs. Dhaka chased down the target with 15 balls in hand. 

Replying to Barishal's 129/8, Dhaka reduced to 10/4. Mohammad Shehzad and Mohammad Naim scored 5 and 4 runs while Tamim Iqbal and Jahurul Islam could not open the scoring.

From here, skipper Mahmudullah Riyad and Shuvagata Hom took the helm on their soulder. This pair added  69 runs for the fifth wickets stand before Shuvagata dismissed to Bravo scroing 29 off 25. Skipper Mahmudullah and Andre Russell did the rest. Although Mahmudullah went out scoring 47 off 47 to Shakib Russell left the field remained not out 31 off 15 and they won the match in 17.3 overs losing 6 wickets. 

Shafiqul Islam and Alzarri Joseph bagged two wickets each. Shakib Al Hasan and Dwayne Bravo took one wicket apiece. 

Earlier, Dhaka captain Mahmudullah Riyad won the toss and decided to field first. Saikat Ali and Nazmul Hossain Shanto were watchful from the beginning. But their resistance did not last long as Najmul Hossain Shanto went caught out by Shuvagato Hom to 21. From here, they reduced 23/3 as Shykat Ali (15) and Towhid Hridoy (0) went out in quick succession.

After losing 3 wickets quickly, Shakib Al Hasan and Chris Gayle took the helm. Shakib made 23 runs from 19 balls before being dismissed. Nurul Hasan Sohan failed to prove his worth and went out scoring just 1 run.

Barishal were able to past over 125 thanks to Caribean duo Gayle (36 off 30) and Dwayne Bravo (33 off 26).

Andre Russell and Isuru Udana took two wickets each for Dhaka.