Lankan players denied NOC to play BPL 2022...

Dhaka, Wednesday   19 January 2022

Lankan players denied NOC to play BPL 2022

 Sports Desk

 Published: 04:56 PM, 9 January 2022   Updated: 05:00 PM, 9 January 2022

File Photo

File Photo

Sri Lankan cricketers are one of the main attractions of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL). However, this time the most popular domestic franchise competition will be held without Lankan cricketers. The Sri Lankan cricketers are not playing in the eighth edition of the BPL as Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) denied giving NOC.

The eighth edition of BPL will start on January 21. Nine Sri Lankan cricketers were scheduled to take part in the event. Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) chief executive Nizamuddin Chowdhury has confirmed that Sri Lankan cricketers will not play in this year's BPL.

Confirming the matter to cricket website Cricbuzz, Nizamuddin Chowdhury said, "The SLC is not allowing their players to play in the BPL due to Sri Lanka's future tour plan."

The SLC has taken this decision as there is a growing tendency among Lankan cricketers to retire in a hurry, the Cricketer's report said.

A number of national team cricketers have recently announced their retirement. The Lankan cricket board thinks they have retired to play in the franchise league.

Nine Sri Lankan cricketers were picked by different franchises for the six-team tournament. As it stands, the teams are looking at replacements.

Fortune Barisal announced on Saturday that they have roped in Dwayne Bravo as replacement for Danushka Gunathilaka while it is understood other franchises are also on the lookout for new names to replace the Sri Lankan players in their roster.

Kusal Mendis was picked by Cumilla Victorians whereas Danushka Gunathilaka and Niroshima Dickwella were bought by Fortune Barisal. Dinesh Chandimal and Angelo Perera were drafted in by Sylhet Sunrisers. Thisara Perera, Bhanuka Rajapakse and Seekkuge Prasanna were picked by Khulna Tigers while Dhaka opted for only one Sri Lankan in Isuru Udana.