India’s new ODI captain Rahul...

India’s new ODI captain Rahul

 Sports Desk

 Published: 12:42 PM, 1 January 2022  

KL Rahul

KL Rahul

KL Rahul will take over India's 18-player squad as captain Rohit Sharma was ruled out of their upcoming ODI series in South Africa due to a hamstring injury. 

All-rounder Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja were also not selected as they were not fit while senior pacer Mohammed Shami, who is in the team for the ongoing Test series, was rested. Pacer Jasprit Bumrah was named as vice-captain of the team. 

“Rohit is not fit, he is in rehab. We never wanted to take chance with him,’ BCCI chairman of selectors Chetan Sharma said. 

“We are looking to groom KL Rahul. He has proved his leadership qualities. KL is the best one who can handle the side.”

The three ODIs will be played at Paarl and Cape Town on January 19, 21 and 23 respectively.

Squad: KL Rahul (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Ruturaj Gaekwad, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Y Chahal, R Ashwin, W Sundar, J Bumrah (VC), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj.