Awami League announces candidates for 7th phase of UP elections...

Dhaka, Thursday   27 January 2022

Beximco LPG Gas

Awami League announces candidates for 7th phase of UP elections

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 04:36 PM, 7 January 2022   Updated: 05:34 PM, 7 January 2022

File Photo

File Photo

The ruling Awami League has announced its party candidates for the post of chairman in the 7th phase of Union Parishad (UP) elections.

The list was released in a press release signed by the Awami League’s Office Secretary Barrister Biplob Barua on Friday.

The press release said the candidates were finalized at a meeting of the Awami League’s Local Government Representative Nomination Board at the Prime Minister’s official residence Ganabhaban on Thursday (January 6).

The meeting was chaired by Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

Earlier, the Election Commission (EC) announced the schedule for the 7th phase of the 10th Union Parishad (UP) elections on December 29 at 9 pm.

According to the announced schedule, the last date for submission of nomination papers for the candidates is January 12, and the selection of nomination papers will be on January 15. Candidates who are eligible for selection and appeal can withdraw their candidature till January 22. Voting will take place on February 7.

>> Click here to see the list <<<