AL picks candidates for 4th phase UP polls...

Dhaka, Friday   28 January 2022

Beximco LPG Gas

AL picks candidates for 4th phase UP polls

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 09:31 PM, 21 November 2021   Updated: 01:29 PM, 27 November 2021

AL picks candidates for 4th phase UP polls

AL picks candidates for 4th phase UP polls

The ruling Awami League (AL) has published its list of candidates for the 4th phase of the Union Parishad (UP) elections in the country. 

The candidates were finalized at a meeting of AL Local Government Public Representative Nomination Board at Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina's official Ganabhaban residence on Saturday last, said a press release. 

Awami League Local Government Public Representative Nomination Board President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina chaired the meeting. At the meeting, AL-backed candidates were nominated for 3 municipalities and 4th phase UP polls of Rangpur, Rajshahi, Khulna and Barishal divisions. 

In Rangpur division, a total of 11 candidates were selected for Panchagarh district while 20 aspirants for Thakurgaon district. Twenty-one candidates will fight from Dinajpur district while 12 others were selected for Nilphamari district. 

Twelve AL-backed candidates were selected from Lalmonirhat district while 19 were nominated in Rangpur district. In Kurigram district, 20 candidates were selected and 18 others were nominated from Gaibandha district. 

In Rajshahi division, 9 candidates were nominated from Joypurhat district while 21 others would fight from Bogura district in UP polls. Twenty-five candidates were nominated from Naogaon district while 15 others were chosen from Rajshahi district. 

In Natore district, 12 candidates were selected while 21 were nominated from Sirajganj district for UP polls and 21 were from Pabna district.

In Khulna division, around 20 were nominated in Kushtia district while 4 were selected from Chuadanga district. 

Around 15 were selected from Jhenaidah district while nine were chosen from Jashore district for UP polls. Around eight were nominated from Magura district while 12 were in Narail district, one in Khulna district and 10 others in Satkhira district. 

In Barishal division, eight were nominated from Patuakhali district while 9 in Bhola district and around 5 in Barishal district.