EC calls for new party registration by Aug 29...

EC calls for new party registration by Aug 29

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 07:07 PM, 26 May 2022   Updated: 07:07 PM, 26 May 2022

Election Commission Bhaban; File Photo

Election Commission Bhaban; File Photo

The Election Commission (EC) has asked the new parties interested in participating in the 12th parliamentary elections to register. The deadline for application is August 29.

EC Secretary Md. Humayun Kabir Khandaker issued a public notification for registration on Thursday.

It states that political parties wishing to register under Section 90-Ka of the Representation of the People Order, 1972 and capable of fulfilling the conditions specified in the Political Parties Registration Rules, 2008, must comply with the guidelines given by the Election Commission by August 29, 20 — are invited to apply for registration. Political parties interested in registration have to apply on their letterhead pads.

What to submit with the application —

  1. The constitution of the party
  2. The election manifesto of the party (if any)
  3. The rules of the party (if any)
  4. Party logo and flag image
  5. List of names of all members of the Central Executive Committee or equivalent committee of the party
  6. Bank account number in the name of the party and the name of the bank and the latest status of the said account.
  7. Details of the source of party funds
  8. Power of Attorney issued in favor of the person concerned to apply for party registration
  9. Copy of non-refundable treasury invoice deposited with the Secretary, Election Commission (EC) Secretariat for registration fee (Deposit money in treasury code number – 1060101100125-110000000-11001000-1422204)
  10. Until the day of submission of the application —
  • Authentic document in support of winning at least one seat with the party symbol in any of the parliamentary elections held during the period from the independence of Bangladesh to the date of submission of the application, Or
  • Certificate issued by the EC or its authorized official in support of gaining 5% of the total votes cast in the constituency in which the petitioning party participated in any of the parliamentary elections held in the period from the date of the Independence of Bangladesh till the date of submission of application, Or
  • Authentic document in support of stay with the party’s central committee, whatever its name may be, an active central office is listed in at least one-third of the administrative district offices and at least 100 upazilas or areas, effective police stations in the metropolitan police station and at least 200 voter members in each upazila.

If all goes well, after deciding to register a political party, the EC will issue a registration certificate in favor of that party in Form-3 and publish the name of the registered political party in the official gazette.

The EC issued a public notice on October 30, 2017, for the registration of the latest party. The time was given till December 31 of that year. Eight political parties applied for registration.

The KM Nurul Huda Commission rejected all the applications for various reasons. Later, the Nationalist Democratic Movement (NDM) and Bangladesh Congress got registered by the court order.

Registered parties include — 

Communist Party of Bangladesh, Bangladesh Awami League, Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP), Ganatantri Party, Liberal Democratic Party (LDP), Bangladesh Sammobadi Dal (ML), Krishak Sramik Janata League, Bangladesh National Awami Party, Bangladesh Workers Party, Jatiya Party (JaPa), Bikalpadhara Bangladesh, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD), Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD), Jaker Party, Gano Forum, Gano Front, Bangladesh National Awami Party (Bangladesh NAP), Bangladesh Jatiya Party, Islamic Front Bangladesh, Bangladesh Kalyan Party, Islami Oikya Jote, Bangladesh Khelafat Majlis, Islami Andolon Bangladesh, Bangladesh Congress, Bangladesh Islami Front, Bangladesh Biplobi Workers Party, Khelafat Majlis, Bangladesh Samajtantrik Dal (BSD), Bangladesh Jatiya Party (BJP), Bangladesh Tarikat Federation, Bangladesh Khilafat Andolan, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Bangladesh, Bangladesh Muslim League (BML), Bangladesh Sanskritik Muktijot (Muktijot), Bangladesh Nationalist Front (BNF), Nationalist Democratic Movement (NDM), Bangladesh Muslim League and National People’s Party (NPP).

The five parties whose registration has been canceled are — Bangladesh Jamaat-e-Islami, Oikkoboddho Nagorik Andolon, Freedom Party, Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) and Jatiya Ganatantrik Party (JAGPA).