15th session of 11th parliament prorogued...

Dhaka, Friday   28 January 2022

Beximco LPG Gas

15th session of 11th parliament prorogued

 Staff Correspondent   daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 06:41 PM, 28 November 2021  

File Photo

File Photo

The fifteenth session of 11th parliament has been prorogued on Sunday after a total of nine sittings as the brief session began on the second week of this month maintaining all necessary health safety rules amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury read out the prorogation order of President M Abdul Hamid.

Leader of the House Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina delivered her winding up speech at the closing session. Deputy leader of the opposition in parliament Golam Mohammad Quader also delivered his speech at the session.

This session was important as a special discussion was held marking the golden jubilee of Independence and President M Abdul Hamid delivered a commemorative speech recalling the contribution of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman to the Independence.

He also highlighted different issues relating to Liberation War and Bangladesh's achievements during the last 50 years.

Leader of the House Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina placed a motion under section 147 of the Rules of Procedure after the President's commemorative speech.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, deputy leader of the opposition, chief whip and MPs took part in the discussion. The Parliament unanimously passed the special motion placed by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina marking the golden jubilee of Bangladesh's independence from Pakistan.

Lawmakers thumped their desks to celebrate the passage of the motion after Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury put it to vote following discussions for over 14 hours 48 hours.

A total of nine bills were placed in this brief session which was ultimately passed by parliament.

Along with the legal procedure, a total of 42 important notices under section 71 of the rules of procedure were received.

During the question-answer session, a total of 41 questions were received for the Prime Minister's question-answer session. The Prime Minister answered ten questions.

In addition to this, 566 questions out of 1,012 questions were answered by the ministers under different ministries during the session.

Besides, the House also adopted obituary motion on the death of Ekabbar Hossain, MP, of Tangail-7 and the House also prayed for the eternal peace of his departed soul to mourn his death.

Meanwhile, the parliament during its session also has adopted a thanks giving motion to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) under section 147 of the rules of procedure after a discussion in the House as the UN agency has launched an international award titled 'UNESCO-Bangladesh Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman International Prize in the field of creativity.

Terming the current session as important, Dr Shirin Sharmin said President M Abdul Hamid delivered his address in the special discussion in this session marking the Golden Jubilee of the Independence.

Before concluding the session, Bangabandhu's address on January 3 in 1970 after the victory of the election was also displayed and broadcast at the parliament session room recalling the struggle of great leader of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman for the freedom of the Bangalee nation.

Before reading out the prorogation order, the Speaker thanked all the lawmakers of treasury and opposition benches.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury also thanked all the MPs, officials, journalists, law enforcers and fire service and civil defense personnel for their services for smoother holding the parliament session.