Sri Lankan President will not resign...

Sri Lankan President will not resign

 International Desk

 Published: 12:33 PM, 7 April 2022  

Sri-Lankan President Gotabaya Rajapaksa; File photo

Sri-Lankan President Gotabaya Rajapaksa; File photo

The Sri-Lankan President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has said that he had no plans to resign. The anti-government movement is intensifying day by day in scattered Sri Lanka due to the dire crisis of electricity, fuel and the orice hike of daily necessities like food and medicine.

In response to criticism from the opposition, Chief Government Whip and Minister for Highways Johnston Fernando said, "I want to remind you that more than 6.9 million people in the country have voted for the President."

"As a government of a country, we want to make it clear that President Gotabaya Rajapaksa will not resign under any circumstances," he said. We will face the situation.

Ali Sabri, the country's new finance minister, resigned less than 24 hours after taking the oath. He submitted his resignation letter to the president on Tuesday (April 5th).

In his resignation letter to the President, Sabri said that he had acted only as an interim measure and if the President wanted to appoint a suitable person outside the Parliament to deal with the situation, he (Sabri) would also resign from his parliamentary seat.

Earlier, all the members of the cabinet of the country resigned at the same time last Sunday due to the political tension caused by the extreme economic crisis. Apart from Sri Lankan Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, all 27 members of the cabinet submitted their resignations.

The next day, the Sri Lankan president appointed four new ministers. Ali Sabri was replaced by Basil Rajapaksa as finance minister. GL Peiris was appointed the Foreign Minister. Dinesh Gunvardhan was also sworn in as Education Minister and Johnston Fernando as Highways Minister.