Fasholi Shan: Genesis of Bengali calendar...

Fasholi Shan: Genesis of Bengali calendar

 Feature Desk daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 01:55 PM, 14 April 2022   Updated: 01:55 PM, 14 April 2022



From “Fasli San” to Bangla Nabobarsho – in short, the Bengali year which came into effect in 1556 was initially known as “Crop Year” or “Fasli San”. The counting of the Bengali new year began to facilitate agriculture and tax collection. The new Bengali year was introduced based on the Hijri lunar year and Bengali solar year.

New year counting begins to facilitate agriculture and rent collection. The new Bengali year was introduced on the basis of the Hijri lunar year and Bengali solar year.

Beginning of the Bengali year

The royal year prevailing at that time was the “Hijri year” (Islamic calendar) – due to which it was not possible to collect tax in the same month every year due to the lunar season. As a result, the Mughal emperor Jalal-ud-din Muhammad Akbar felt the need to introduce a solar-based year – which would be consistent with the time of crop production of the farmers.

Although the new year was introduced in the 29th year of Akbar’s reign, the counting began on November 5, 1556 AD - Because on that day, Akbar defeated Hemu (Hindu king of Delhi Hem Chandra Vikramaditya) in the Second Battle Of Panipat. 

According to the then Hijri calendar, it was 963 years. Subtracting the year 1556 from the present year 2020, the date of Akbar’s accession to the throne, (2020 - 1556) = 464. Adding the subsequent Hijri year 963 with this subtraction gives (963 + 464) = 1427 — which indicates the current year in Bangla.

How to name Bengali 12 months

Farvardin, Ordibehesht, Khordad, Tir, Mordad, Shahrivar, Mehr, Aban, Azar, Dey, Bahman, Esfand — these were the names of the month in the beginning. Later, the months of the Bengali year were renamed according to the stellar rules.

Experts believe that the names are derived from the Shakabd, which was used during the reign of the Shaka people in 76 AD.

1. From Bishakha to Boishakh, 2. Jyaistha to Joishtho, 3. Ashaŗh to Aashar, 4. Sravana to Srabon, 5. Bhadrapada to Bhadro, 6. Ashvini to Ashwin, 7. Kritika to Kartik, 8. Pushya to Poush, 9. Agroihani from Ogrohayon, 10. Magha to Magh, 11. Falguni to Falgun, 12. Chitra to Chaitra.