Voting in 5 municipalities, 123 unions, one UP begin...

Voting in 5 municipalities, 123 unions, one UP begin

 Country Desk

 Published: 11:39 AM, 15 June 2022  

Photo: Daily Bangladesh

Photo: Daily Bangladesh

Apart from Comilla City Corporation (COCC) elections, general elections are underway in 5 municipalities, 123 unions and one Upazila Parishad (UP) in the country. At the same time, voting in the by-election is also underway for various vacant posts in 44 unions and three UPs. Although the election schedule of Jhenaidah municipality has been announced, it has been postponed later.

The voting in these areas started at 8 am on Wednesday and will continue till 4 pm. After the polling started at 8 am, the voters were seen in a festive atmosphere by casting votes for the preferred candidate.

According to the Election Commission, voting in the general elections of municipalities and unions will be held in EVMs. Voting will be done on the ballot paper in UP elections.

The five municipalities are — Meherpur municipality, Gopalganj, Musksudpur, Baghaichhari of Rangamati and Beanibazar of Sylhet.

Among these five municipalities, Beanibazar has a maximum of 10 candidates for the post of mayor. There were 10 candidates in Gopalganj too. However, 9 candidates have announced in several press conferences till Tuesday that “they will not be contesting”. For this, the only mayoral candidate in this municipality is - Sheikh Rakib Hossain of Awami League’s Boat symbol.  

Besides, five candidates are contesting for the post of mayor in Musksudpur municipality and two each in Baghaichhari and Meherpur municipalities. The total number of voters in these five municipalities will be 1,46,099 with 434 polling booths in 79 polling stations.

UP general election is also underway in Guimara of Khagrachari. The by-elections for the post of chairman are being held in Khansama of Dinajpur and Golapganj Upazila Parishad of Sylhet. The by-election for the post of vice chairman is being held in Madan upazila of Netrokona.

Voting is taking place in different parts of the country for the first time since Kazi Habibul Awal took charge of the Election Commission (EC).