Voting to 15 UPs of Narsingdi tomorrow...

Dhaka, Wednesday   19 January 2022

Voting to 15 UPs of Narsingdi tomorrow

 Narsingdi Correspondent

 Published: 09:15 PM, 4 January 2022  

Voting to 15 UPs of Narsingdi tomorrow

Voting to 15 UPs of Narsingdi tomorrow

Fifteen Union Parishads (UPs) of Narsingdi are set to go to polls tomorrow (January 5). Voting will start at 8am and will continue till 4pm. There are 7 UPs of Shibpur upazila and 8 UPs of Belab upazila.

Election equipment has been distributed since noon on Wednesday. The presiding officer and members of the law enforcement agencies in charge of the election have taken the equipment from the office of the Upazila Parishad Election Officer.

District Senior Election Officer Mechbah Uddin said the ballot would reach the center on the morning of polling day.

According to the district election officer's office, polling will be held in Dulalpur, Sadharchar, Putia, Ayubpur, Baghab, Joynagar and Yoshar in Shibpur upazila and Salabad, Narayanpur, Charujilab, Amlab, Belab, Bajnab, Binnabaid and Patuli of Belab Upazila. In 15 unions of the two upazilas, 95 candidates are contesting for the post of chairman, 526 for member posts, and 163 for reserved member posts.

Various discussions are going on among the general voters about the candidates everywhere including the tea shops in the constituency. Ordinary voters, including candidates, are anxious and hesitant about fair voting. The administration says members of law enforcement are on high alert to hold free and fair polls. The campaign ended at midnight on Monday, according to the schedule.