Young Tigers need 178-run to win WC

Dhaka, Sunday   05 April 2020


Young Tigers need 178-run to win WC

 Sports Desk

 Published: 05:49 PM, 9 February 2020   Updated: 05:57 PM, 9 February 2020

Photo: Collected

Photo: Collected

Bangladesh under-19s cricket team have restricted India under-19s team to 177 runs in the Final, ICC Under-19 World Cup at Potchefstroom.

After winning the toss Bangladesh captain Akbar Ali chose to bowl first and put India under pressure, not letting them score freely and getting the crucial early wicket of Divyansh Saxena when India were on 9.

YBK Jaiswal and NT Tilak Varma added 94 runs in the 2nd wicket stand. Tanzim Hasan Sakib made the much-needed breakthrough for Bangladesh sending back Varma for 38. Then Rakibul Hasan strike to make 3rd breakthrough for Bangladesh sending back skipper Priyam Garg for 7.

Left-hand medium-pacer Shoriful Islam strikes twice to increase pressure on India U-19s. The left-hand pacer got Jaiswal 88 off 120 and SA Veer 0 in the 5th and 6th ball of his 7th over and India lost their 5th wicket to 156.

From 156/3, India all out for 177 and lost 7 wickets for only 21 runs.  

India lost their 6th wickets to 168 when DC Jurel run out by Shamim Hossain/†Akbar Ali. Ravi Bishnoi also being dismissed by Shoriful Islam's through and Atharva Ankolekar dismissed by Avishek Das. It was slower form Avishek and Ankolekar aims to chop it down to deep third man, but Atharva instead drags it back onto the stumps.

Avishek Das also got Kartik Tyagi. Sushant Mishra dismissed by Tanzim Hasan Sakib as a last man and India all out for 177 in 47.2 over.

For Bangladesh, Avishek Das took 3 wickets for 40 runs. Shoriful Islam and Tanzim Hasan Sakib bagged 2 wickets each while Rakibul Hasan took the other wickets.