Alexa Women MPs of reserved seats join JS session

Dhaka, Sunday   23 February 2020


Women MPs of reserved seats join JS session

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 09:37 PM, 24 February 2019  

File Photo

File Photo

Members of Parliament (MPs) to the women reserved seats in the 11th Jatiya Sangsad today joined the House proceedings for the first time in the ongoing session.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury informed the House this evening.

Earlier on Wednesday last, the Speaker administered the oath of 49 MPs at ceremony in the Parliament complex.

As per law, the Election Commission (EC) published a gazette naming 49 lawmakers elected on February 17.

Of the 49 MPs for the women reserved seats, 43 are from the ruling Awami League, four from Jatiya Party, and one each from Workers’ Party and Independent.

The 43 AL MPs to the women reserved seats are: Shirin Ahmed, Zinnatul Bakia, Shabnam Jahan Shila, Suborna Mustafa, Nahid Ijhar Khan, Khadizatul Anowar, Waseqa Ayesha Khan, Kaniz Fatema Ahmed, Basonti Chakma, Anjum Sultana, Aroma Dutta, Umme Fatema Nazma Begum, Shamsunnahar Bhuiyan, Rumana Ali, Sultana Nadira, Hosne Ara, Habiba Rahman Khan (Shefaly), Zakia Parvin Khanam, Sheikh Anni Rahman, Aporajita Haque, Shamima Akhter Khanam, Fazilatun Nesa, Rabeya Alim, Tamanna Nusrat Bubly, Nargis Rahman, Monira Sultana, Mosammat Khaleda Khanam, Syeda Rubina Mira, Kazi Kaniz Sultana, Advocate Gloria Jharna Sarker, Mamata Hena Lovely, Zakia Tabassum, Farida Khanam (Sakee), Rushema Begum, Syeda Rashida Begum, Syeda Zohra Alauddin, Adiba Anjum Mita, Ferdousi Islam Jessy, Parvin Haque Shikder, Khodeza Nasrin Akhter 
Hossain, Mosammat Tahmina Begum, Nadia Yasmin Joly and Ratna Ahmed.

Reserved MPs from Jatiya Party are: Prof Masuda M Rashid Chowdhury, Advocate Salma Islam, Principal Rawshan Ara Mannan and Nazma Akhter.

Lutfun Nesa Khan has been nominated from the Workers’ Party of Bangladesh and Selina Islam form among Independents.

As per the Constitution, the 350-seat parliament has 50 seats reserved for women, while the remaining 300 seats are filled up by members, irrespective of gender, through direct election.

The reserved seats are allocated to political parties in proportion to their number of seats in the Jatiya Sangsad.

Though the BNP could have got one seat, in accordance with the rules of allocation, it has been remained empty because it is still unclear whether the party’s MPs-elect will take their seats in parliament.