Alexa Wheelchair cricketers eyeing to win title

Dhaka, Wednesday   22 January 2020


Uttarakhand Cup-2 T20

Wheelchair cricketers eyeing to win title

 Sports Correspondent

 Published: 06:51 PM, 12 December 2019  

Photo: Collected

Photo: Collected

A 16-member Bangladesh National Wheelchair Cricket team will fly for India on December 16 to take part in Uttarakhand Cup-2 T20, an international tournament for cricketers with disabilities, scheduled for December 19-23 at the Gandhi Park in Indian state Uttarakhand. 

Four Asian countries for the first time in the history of any wheelchair cricket tournament will compete in the tournament. The participating teams are Bangladesh, Nepal, Afghanistan and host India.

Bangladesh will play against Afghanistan on December 19 while taking on Nepal on December 20 and meet host India on December 21. 

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) will provide technical support to the national wheelchair team for the tour while six other organizations including Orion Group, BRAC, ABC Radio, Imago Sports Management Limited, Nafi Group and BD Crick Time, will bear all the expenses. 

Ahead of the tournament, the details were disclosed in a press conference and the jersey unveiling function at the BRAC Centre conference room in Mohakhali on Thursday.

Bangladesh Wheelchair Cricket team Captain Mohammad Mohsin, Team Manager Md Mahbubur Rahman Chowdhury Palash, BRAC Human Resources and Learning Division Director Maria Haq and Co-founder of Imago Sports Management Ltd Quazi Sabir were present on the occasion. 

Captain Mohammad Mohsin said that they are prepared for the tournament and confident of winning the title. “We’re satisfied with our preparations. If we perform well, we can win the title,” he said.

“We’ll be facing Afghanistan for the first time but as the newcomers, we expect to make a good result against them,” the captain added. 

Earlier, the Bangladesh Wheelchair Cricket team emerged champions in the International Bilateral Wheelchair T20 Cricket Series’2018 in Maharashtra and in the 2nd Int’l Tri-Nation Wheelchair T20 Cricket Series’2018 in Uttarakhand.

Bangladesh Wheelchair Cricket Team: Md Mohsin (C), Nur Nahiyan (VC), Md Mithu, Sazzad Hossain, Md Ripon Uddin, Md Rajan Hossain, Md Mohidul Islam, Md Morshed Alam, Swapan Dewan, Khandakar Nafiur, Ujjal Bairagi, Rony Gain, Robin Gain and Ratul Islam.
Team Manager: Md Mahbubur Rahman Chowdhury Palash
Coach: Islam Ahmed