Warner back as Australia announce squad for last two Tests...

Dhaka, Thursday   25 February 2021

Warner back as Australia announce squad for last two Tests

 Sports Desk daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 07:03 PM, 30 December 2020  

Warner back as Australia announce squad for last two Tests

Warner back as Australia announce squad for last two Tests

David Warner, Sean Abbott and Will Pucovski have been named in Australia's 18-man squad for the remaining two Tests against India.

Warner and Abbott were both injured with Warner recovering from a groin injury and Abbott nursing a calf strain. Pucovski, who was in line for a debut in the first Test, had been ruled out after suffering a concussion in the practice match.

With all three expected to be fit by the third Test, Australia have strengthened their squad for the final two Tests in Sydney and Brisbane. Opener Joe Burns, who returned scores of 8, 51*, 0 and 4 in the first two matches, has been dropped.

"David Warner has made strong progress in his recovery from injury and will be given every chance to play in Sydney with another seven days until the match. Sean [Abbott] has fully recovered from a calf strain and is also available for selection," said national selector Trevor Hohns.

"Will Pucovski is in the final stages of the graduated return to play protocols and has been symptom-free for some time. He will be fit to play in Sydney subject to completing the return to play protocols and an independent assessment.
"Joe Burns has been released from the squad and will return to the Brisbane Heat. Unfortunately, Joe’s returns haven’t been what he or the selectors would like or what we consider he is capable of."

Warner has been training at the nets at the MCG this week and Australia captain Tim Paine is happy with his progress.

"David looks really good from what I've seen," Paine said. "He's obviously been training in the nets and he's started running a bit between the wickets, so the early signs for him are very good for the third Test, which is awesome for us."

Australia will train in Melbourne on January 2 and 3 before moving to Sydney on January 4. The third Test begins from January 7 with the series level at 1-1.

Squad: Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner