Warner, Smith, Cummins, Maxwell not part of BAN tour...

Dhaka, Monday   02 August 2021

Warner, Smith, Cummins, Maxwell not part of BAN tour

 Sports Desk daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 03:30 PM, 16 June 2021  

Warner, Smith, Cummins, Maxwell not part of BAN tour

Warner, Smith, Cummins, Maxwell not part of BAN tour

David Warner, Pat Cummins, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Daniel Sams and Marcus Stoinis aren't part of Australia's squad for the white-ball tours of Bangladesh and West Indies for various reasons, neither is Steven Smith who is nursing an elbow injury.

Cricket Australia announced an 18-man squad on Wednesday (June 16), with Dan Christian, Wes Agar, Ben McDermott and Ashton Turner making the cut. McDeremott and Christian were among the six additions to the preliminary squad named earlier, and both flew back from the UK cutting short their stints with Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire respectively.

Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Alex Carey, Moises Henriques and Mitchell Swepson are also back in the white-ball squad having missed the recent series against New Zealand as they were part of the Test squad that was selected for the South Africa tour (from which Australia eventually pulled out).

The squad includes Wes Agar, who has received his maiden international call-up while Nathan Ellis and Tanveer Sangha will also with with the team as reserves.

Cricket Australia had earlier held discussions with the players in the initial preliminary squad, and it was evident that some of them were impacted by being in extended bio-bubbles and hard quarantine.

The Australian group returning from the IPL, which came to an abrupt halt due to COVID-19 positive cases within the bubble - had a difficult time getting back home. They were flown to Sri Lanka and Maldives initially as there was a travel ban from India to Australia till May 15. The party was forced to wait for 10 days before the BCCI flew them to Australia via a charter flight.

"The pandemic is now into its second year and that has meant athletes and staff, particularly those who participate internationally, have spent lengthy periods in bio-secure hubs, where freedom of movement is restricted, and hard quarantine," said Alex Kountouris, Head of Sports Science and Sports Medicine "CA has maintained from the start of the pandemic that we would support players or staff members through the additional demands placed upon them by hubs and quarantine.

"We look forward to a time when hubs and quarantines are things of the past, but for now we will continue to manage the situation as best we can with the wellbeing of our people at the forefront of our decision-making," Kountouris added.

Meanwhile, a 'disappointed' Smith will use the time-off to recover fully and be ready for Australia's future assignments. "Steve Smith was unavailable for selection due to an elbow injury and will now be able to use this time to fully recover ahead of the World Cup and home Ashes Series. Steve was disappointed to miss the tour with the decision made on medical grounds," said National Selector Trevor Hohns who added that the absence of several frontline players presents opportunities for others.

"International tours in the time of Covid-19 undoubtedly present many additional challenges for athletes. They also present opportunities for others and, in this case, the chance to push for selection in the Australian men's T20 World Cup squad later this year and beyond," said Hohns. "This is a great chance for these players to make a case for the World Cup and all are considered very real prospects of making that tournament by performing well across these tours."

Australia's Caribbean-bound squad will leave on June 28 to play in five T20Is and three ODIs against West Indies from July 9-24. The Bangladesh tour, which is yet to be confirmed, will include five T20Is.

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (C), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Riley Meredith, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.