Alexa WI opt to bowl against India

Dhaka, Tuesday   28 January 2020


WI opt to bowl against India

 Sports Desk

 Published: 07:20 PM, 8 December 2019  

File Photo

File Photo

West Indies have won the toss and decided to bowl first in the 2nd T20I against India at Thiruvananthapuram, India.

India pulled off their highest successful run-chase in the first T20 International in Hyderabad and have their eyes set on securing the three-match series by winning the second T20I in Thiruvananthapuram. 

India opted to bowl in the opening match on Friday but their bowlers couldn't stop the West Indies from reaching a formidable total of 207/5. However, captain Virat Kohli led by example and scored an unbeaten knock of 94 runs to help India chase down a tough target with eight balls to spare. 

The visitors will take the field to keep their hopes of winning the series alive, while India will be looking to seal the three-match series with an emphatic win.

India: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 KL Rahul, 3 Virat Kohli (capt), 4 Shreyas Iyer, 5 Rishabh Pant (wk), 6 Shivam Dube, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Washington Sundar, 9 Deepak Chahar, 10 Bhuvneshwar Kumar, 11 Yuzvendra Chahal

West Indies: 1 Lendl Simmons, 2 Evin Lewis, 3 Brandon King, 4 Shimron Hetmyer, 5 Nicholas Pooran (wk), 6 Kieron Pollard (capt), 7 Jason Holder, 8 Khary Pierre, 9 Kesrick Williams, 10 Sheldon Cottrell, 11 Hayden Walsh Jr