Voting underway in national election

Dhaka, Sunday   16 June 2019

Voting underway in national election

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 08:12 AM, 30 December 2018   Updated: 12:06 PM, 30 December 2018

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Voting began in the 11th parliamentary elections on Sunday morning amid much enthusiasm and festivity.

The balloting began at 8:00 am and will continue till 4:00 pm without any break. 

 Prime Minister and Awami League president Sheikh Hasina already cast her ballot at Dhaka City College. 

A total of 1,861 candidates are vying for the polls. Among them, 1,733 are from political parties and 128 independents.

A total of 10, 42, 38,677 voters, including 5, 25, 72,365 male and 5,16,66,312 female, will cast their votes at 206,477 polling booths of the 40,183 voting centers in 299 constituencies across the country. 

However, the election in Gaibandha-3 constituency has been deferred due to the death of a candidate and voting for the seat will be held on January 27.

The EC will take votes using Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) at all polling booths in six constituencies for the first time. The constituencies are- Dhaka-6 and 13, Chattogram-9, Rangpur-3, Khulna-2 and Satkhira-2.

In compliance with new electoral rules, a total of 39 registered political parties are contesting the polls.

About 608,000 members of law enforcement agencies, 66 returning officers, will perform their responsibilities to conduct the election across the country.

A total of 4,0183 presiding officers, 20, 7,312 assistant presiding officers and 4,14,624 polling officers have been appointed for conducting the election while about 1,328 executive magistrates will be deployed and 640 judicial magistrates will work in 122 electoral inquiry committees during the polls.