Alexa Voting in 8 Upazilas underway

Dhaka, Sunday   08 December 2019

Voting in 8 Upazilas underway

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 10:16 AM, 14 October 2019   Updated: 04:00 PM, 14 October 2019

File Photo

File Photo

Voting in eight Upazilas, two municipalities and 14 Union Parishads of the country is underway on Monday. The polling that started at 9:00 am, will continue till 5:00 pm without any break.  

Earlier on Saturday night, campaigns in the election areas ended according to the Upazila Election Act.

Election Commission's Deputy Secretary Atiar Rahman said that Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used in four Upazilas in the elections. EVMs will also be used in three UPs, two municipalities and a ward. 

The eight Upazilas:  - EVMs will be used in Chapainawabganj Sadar Upazila, Mehendiganj of Barishal, Maheshpur of Jhenaidah and Kabirhat Upazila of Noakhali. The ballot papers will be used in the remaining Upazilas - Sherpur Sadar Upazila, Atpara of Netrokona, Kotchandpur of Jhenaidah and Satkania Upazila of Chattogram. 

Two municipalities: Nabinagar in Brahmanbaria and Lalmohan in Bhola, where the EVMs will be used. 

14 UP: Gorgori, Bajubagha, Pakuria and Monigram under Bagha Upazila of Rajshahi; Naikhongchari, Ghumdhum and Sonaichhari under Naikhongchhari Upazila of Bandarban; Habibullahnagar and Porjana under Shahjadpur Upazila of Sirajganj; Ramnagar and Daganbhuiyan under Daganbhuiyan Upazila of Feni; Rupganj under Rupganj upazila of Narayanganj; Mirpur under Jagannathpur Upazila of Sunamganj and Kadhurkhil UP under Boalkhali Upazila of Chattogram.

Besides, by-elections will be held in different posts of the 86 UPs.