Voting in 60 municipalities Saturday ...

Dhaka, Sunday   07 March 2021

2nd phase of municipal polls

Voting in 60 municipalities Saturday 

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 03:02 PM, 15 January 2021   Updated: 04:03 PM, 15 January 2021

Photo: Daily Bangladesh

Photo: Daily Bangladesh

The voting for the 60 municipalities, in the second phase, will be held across the country on Saturday. 

The Election Commission (EC) has already completed all the preparations. The voting will continue from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm on that day. Of the 60 municipalities in this phase – 26 will be held through EVMs and 32 by ballots.

Adequate members of law enforcement and magistrates have been deployed for the smooth and peaceful conduct of the second phase of municipal elections. Besides polling stations, BGB, police and Ansar have been deployed in the constituencies. Mobile teams are also patrolling the area and a striking force has been deployed.

Although the schedule for 61 municipalities has been announced, the elections have been postponed due to the death of the mayoral candidate of Syedpur municipality. Besides, voting in Pabna’s Sujanagar municipality has been postponed due to lawsuits. 

On the other hand, the voting in the Sreepur municipality of Gazipur, which was scheduled in the first phase, is being held in the second phase. 

The total number of voters in the election is 22,40,226. The number of male voters – 11,08,431 and female voters – 11,31,831.

In the second phase of municipal elections, there are 1,080 polling stations and 6,508 polling booths. There are 221 mayoral candidates and 745 councilor candidates in the reserved seats. And 2,320 candidates are running for the post of general councilor.

Earlier on December 3, the EC announced the schedule for the second phase of 61 municipal elections. According to the announced schedule, the last date for submission of nomination papers was December 20. Nomination papers were scrutinized on December 22. The last date for withdrawal of candidature was December 29.