Voting in 29 municipalities end, counting underway...

Dhaka, Monday   12 April 2021

Fifth phase municipality polls:

Voting in 29 municipalities end, counting underway

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 05:36 PM, 28 February 2021  

File Photo

File Photo

The fifth phase of voting to 29 municipalities has ended with enthusiasm. The voting was ended at 4:00 pm on Sunday. After the voting, counting has started in each center. 

The voting in 29 municipalities was started at 8:00 am on Sunday and continued till 4:00 pm. In this phase, voters in all the municipalities will cast their votes through electronic voting machines (EVMs).

All kinds of preparation were taken to hold the fifth phase polls to 31 municipalities across the country, however, voting in Jashore Municipality and Dewanganj Municipality in Jamalpur has been postponed by the order of the High Court. As a result, polling in 29 municipalities was held today. 

A total of 1784 candidates - 100 candidates for Mayoral posts, 366 for reserved councilors posts and 1318 candidates for general
councilors posts - are vying in the polls, according to the Election Commission (EC). The law enforcers have been deployed to ensure law and order during the election.  

The country has a total of 329 municipalities - in the first phase polls were held through EVMs to 24 municipalities on December 28. In the second phase, polls were held in 60 municipalities on January 16. In the third phase, polls were held to 63 municipalities on January 30 and polls in fourth phase to 55 municipalities on February 14. 

The 29 municipalities in the fifth phase are - Rangunia, Raozan, Mirsarai and Bariarhat in Chattgram; Raipur in Laxmipur; Nachole in Chapainawabganj; Habiganj, Islampur, Madarganj and Jamalpur Sadar in Habiganj; Charghat and Durgapur in Rajshahi; Bogura Sadar; Singair in Manikganj; Matlab and Shahrashti inChandpur; Keshabpur in Jessore; Shibchar and Madaripur Sadar in Madaripur; Haragachh in Rangpur; Brahmanbaria Sadar in Brahmanbaria; Kaliganj and Maheshpur in Jhenaidah; Joypurhat Sadar in Joypurhat; Nandail in Mymensingh; Bhola Sadar in Bhola; and Kaliganj in Gazipur.