Voting in 206 districts, upazilas, UPs underway...

Dhaka, Thursday   24 June 2021

Voting in 206 districts, upazilas, UPs underway

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 10:15 AM, 20 October 2020  

File Photo

File Photo

The voting in 206 districts, upazilas and Union Parishads (UPs) of the country has been underway amid strict security. 

Voting in unions and upazilas started at 9:00 am on Tuesday and will continue till 5:00 pm and district council polls will continue till 2:00 pm.

General elections are being held in 15 UPs, by-elections in 16 UPs, general elections in one upazila, by-elections in 8 upazilas and voting in 7 district councils.

Voting is going on in 15 UPs are — 

Sadyapuskurini, Haridebpur and Chandanpat of Rangpur Sadar Upazila, Farashganj of Lalmohan upazila in Bhola, Daudpur UP of Rupganj upazila in Narayanganj, Mandatosh, Bhangura of Bhangura upazila in Pabna, Gajna and Korkandi of Madhukhali upazila in Faridpur, Mahipur of Kalapara upazila in Patuakhali, Goraitupi (EVM) of Chuadanga Sadar; Amirabad of Lohagara in Chattogram, Lohagara, Adhunagar and Soyabil of Fatikchhari.

The Election Commission (EC) has deployed law enforcers in all constituencies to keep the election environment peaceful. The EC has also appointed a judicial magistrate.