Two rookies in ODI squad

Dhaka, Thursday   09 April 2020


Two rookies in ODI squad

 Sports Desk

 Published: 06:15 PM, 23 February 2020   Updated: 06:29 PM, 23 February 2020

File Photo

File Photo

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) today announced the squad for the first two ODIs against Zimbabwe where Naim Sheikh and Afif Hossain made a maiden call up. Mashrafe Bin Mortaza will lead the side and it may be his last ODI series as a captain, who last played ODI against Sri Lanka.

Minhajul Abedin Nanu, the chief selector said that it is an extraordinary thing for us to get Mashrafe feet again. His experience and leadership are vital to our ODI team.

He added, we have had to make some changes from the last One-Day squad. Many of us were not on the team due to service injuries and various reasons. But this time we will get fully fit players.

Najmul Hossain Shanto, Liton Das, Al-Amin Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, and Shafiul Islam make come back. 

Mosaddek Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Anamul Haque, Farhad Reza and Taskin Ahmed who were part of the last ODI series but misses this time, while Soumya Sarkar is said to be taking a break for personal reasons.

Mosaddek is injured but the others haven't been in Bangladesh's plans for some time now. Taskin is in the Test squad currently playing against Zimbabwe, but he didn't make the XI. Rubel is an interesting exclusion though. He is usually considered a shoe-in for one-day games.

All three ODIs will be held at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on March 1, 3 and 6 respectively, all matches will start at 1pm. 

Bangladesh ODI Squad for first two ODIs:

Mashrafei Bin Mortaza (captain), Tamim Iqbal Khan, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Kumar Das, Taijul Islam, Afif Hossain, Naim Sheikh, Al-Amin Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Shafiul Islam, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman