Tigers opt to bat first...

Dhaka, Monday   19 April 2021

Bangladesh vs West Indies

Tigers opt to bat first

 Sports Desk daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 10:21 AM, 3 February 2021  

File Photo

File Photo

Bangladesh captain Mominul Haque won the toss and opted to bat first in the opener of the two-match Test series against visiting West Indies at Chattogram Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium on Wednesday. 

Before heading to this game, the two team faced each other in 16 ODIs. Bangladesh won four of them, and West Indies 10 while two other matches were draw.

Meanwhile, Bangladesh is keen to grab all the available points in the two-match Test series against West Indies in a bid to open their account in the ICC World Test Championship (WTC) point table.

Bangladesh is currently languishing at the bottom of the point table in nine-team tournament but what is more disappointing for them is that they still haven’t missed any point.

However due to Covid-19 pandemic, Bangladesh couldn’t play all the matches of the WTC like other teams. They have so far played one series against India and another series against Pakistan remains unfinished after playing one Test. The second Test against Pakistan was halted by a pandemic situation.

Overall Bangladesh played three matches in the WTC and lost all by innings margin. 

West Indies currently sit just one spot ahead of Bangladesh after securing a victory in seven matches. If Bangladesh wins the upcoming two matches against the Caribbean, there is a chance they can overcome West Indies.

Bangladesh (Playing XI):
Tamim Iqbal, Shadman Islam, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque(c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Liton Das(w), Mehidy Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman. 

West Indies (Playing XI): Kraigg Brathwaite(c), John Campbell, Jermaine Blackwood, Sheyne Moseley, Nkrumah Bonner, Joshua Da Silva(w), Kyle Mayers, Rahkeem Cornwall, Jomel Warrican, Kemar Roach, Shannon Gabriel.