T20 WC Fixtures revealed, Tigers to meet Scotland on opening day...

Dhaka, Sunday   24 October 2021

T20 WC Fixtures revealed, Tigers to meet Scotland on opening day

 Sports Desk daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 12:01 PM, 17 August 2021   Updated: 04:19 PM, 17 August 2021

Bangladesh Cricket Team - BCB

Bangladesh Cricket Team - BCB

The T20  World Cup is set to start on October 17 in Dubai and Oman. Bangladesh will take on Scotland on the opening day of the tournament. 

The ICC announced the fixtures on Tuesday morning. 

Besides, Bangladesh, the team in Group B,  will play against Oman on October 19 and Papua New Guinea on October 21 in the first round. The matches will begin at 8:00 pm Bangladesh Standard Time. 

Meanwhile, the tournament will begin with the Round 1 Group B encounter between hosts Oman and Papua New Guinea at 2:00 pm local time on October 17.  

Ireland, Netherlands, Sri Lanka and Namibia - making up Group A - will be in action in Abu Dhabi the next day, with Round 1 matches running till October 22. The top two teams in each group will proceed to the Super12 stage of the tournament, beginning on October 23. 

The second round of the tournament - the Super12 stage - will get underway in Abu Dhabi on October 23, with the Group 1 contest between Australia and South Africa. This will be followed up with an evening clash between England and West Indies in Dubai. 

Old rivals England and Australia will lock horns in Dubai on October 30. The group will conclude on November 6 with matches between Australia and West Indies in Abu Dhabi, and England and South Africa in Sharjah. 

Group 2 will commence with a heavyweight clash between India and Pakistan in Dubai on October 24 at 6:00 pm local time. Pakistan then take on New Zealand in Sharjah on October 26, in a tough start for the 2009 champions. Afghanistan begin their campaign on October 25 at Sharjah, taking on the winners of Group B from the first round. 

The group will conclude on November 8, with India taking on the second-placed Round 1 qualifier from Group A.   

The first semi-final will be held in Abu Dhabi on November 10 at 6:00 pm local time. The second semi-final will be hosted by Dubai on November 11. Both semi-finals have reserve days.

The marquee clash of the tournament will take place in Dubai at 6:00 pm local time on November 14, Sunday, with Monday acting as the reserve day for the final.