Sub-Editors Council polls: Mamun President, Hridoy Secretary...

Dhaka, Sunday   07 March 2021

Sub-Editors Council polls: Mamun President, Hridoy Secretary

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 10:40 PM, 25 January 2021  

Mamun Faraji and Abul Hasan Hridoy

Mamun Faraji and Abul Hasan Hridoy

Mamun Faraji of Daily Jugantar and Abul Hasan Hridoy of Daily Amader Somoy have been elected President and General Secretary respectively of Dhaka Sub-Editors Council polls today.

Chief Election Commissioner Manjurul Ahsan Bulbul announced the results at the National Press Club auditorium on Monday evening.

Earlier, polling started at 10 am and continued till 5 pm. A total of 775 voters cast their vote in the election out of 1266 voters.

There were 33 candidates against 11 posts in two panels. Although a total of 14 candidates contested for the post of executive member, 11 candidates were elected.

Anjuman Ara Shilpi of Bangladesh Alo has been elected unopposed as the Vice President.

Other elected office bearers are Jawahar Iqbal Khan (Joint Editor), Alok Biswas (Treasurer), Samsul Alam Setu (Organizing Secretary), Monir Ahmed Zarif (Office Secretary), Alamgir Kabir (Publicity and Publication Secretary), Labin Rahman(Training and Research Secretary), Tawfiq Apu (Sports and Cultural Secretary).

Farzana Jaba, Jafrul Alam, Abdur Rahman Khan, Aminul Rana, AHM Faisal, Md. Monir Hossain, Md. Fakhruddin Munna, Naeem Mashreqi, Abu Jafar Saifuddin, Md. Abdul Adud and Md. Safayet Hossain have been elected as executive members.