Alexa Steve Smith to play for Comilla Victorians in BPL

Dhaka, Tuesday   21 January 2020


Steve Smith to play for Comilla Victorians in BPL

 Sports Desk

 Published: 10:21 AM, 28 November 2018   Updated: 10:21 AM, 28 November 2018

Steve Smith

Steve Smith

The former Australian captain Steve Smith is all set to participate in the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) which is scheduled to commence on January 5, 2019.

The left-handed batsman inked paper with Comilla Victorians who are the former champions of the contest. Earlier, Smith welcomed back by his Indian Premier League team Rajasthan Royals who left him out during the last season of the tournament. 

Khan Nayon, media and communications manager of Victorians, confirmed the inclusion of New South Wales-man to the Comilla armoury. It means Smith will join Comilla with Bangladesh star Tamim Iqbal and Pakistan star Shoaib Malik. 

"We are glad to inform you that the former Australia captain Steve Smith joins Victorians' camp. He will join us after the first four matches of the BPL. We are going a great tournament this time around,” Khan Nayon said while talking to media.

However, he denied revealing anything details about remuneration of the former Aussie player.

Steve Smith has been serving a 12-month ban due to his involvement in the ball-tampering scandal during the Newlands Test against the hosts South Africa earlier this year. 

Despite the ban, Smith is allowed to play foreign T20 leagues, and the southpaw batsman played the last season of the Caribbean Premier League. He played eight matches for Barbados Tridents and scored 174 runs at an average of 21.75. 

Smith played 162 T20 matches and struck 3309 runs at an average of 29.81. He has a century and 12 half-centuries to his credit. The vast experience of Smith will surely help Comilla to regain the crown of BPL. 

Smith's Australian teammate, David Warner, is also set to play in the BPL as he signed with Sylhet Sixers. Along with the Australian-duo, AB de Villiers and Alex Hales will also play in the tournament as others superstar. 

The sixth season of BPL will commence from January 5 next year which was initially scheduled in October 2018. But, due to the national parliamentary election, the BPL governing council decided to reschedule the most prestigious domestic cricket contest of the country.