Alexa Sramik League gets new president, GS

Dhaka, Tuesday   12 November 2019


Sramik League gets new president, GS

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 07:49 PM, 9 November 2019  

Fazlul Huq Montu, Azam Khasru and Molla Abul Kalam Azad were made Sramik League new president, general secretary and executive president respectively.

Awami League general secretary Obaidul Quader announced their names in the afternoon.

Earlier, the Prime Minister inaugurated the council of Sramik League through hoisting the national flag with the national anthem playing.

Chaired by Jatiya Sramik League President (current) Sukkur Mahmud, the function was addressed, among others, by Labour and Manpower Affairs Secretary Habibur Rahman Siraj, State Minister for Labour and Employment Begum Munnujan Sufian, ILO Country Director Tuomo Poutiainen, General Secretary of the ITUC Asia-Pacific Shoya Yoshida and General Secretary of South Asian Regional Trade Union Council Laxman Bahadur Basnet.

Sramik League general secretary Sirajul Islam delivered the welcome speech while executive president Fazlul Huq Montu read out the condolence motion.

Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman founded the Sramik League in 1969 aiming to protect the rights of workers.

The last council session of the Jatiya Sramik League was held seven years back on July 17, 2012, when Sukkur Mahmud and Sirajul Islam were made the president and secretary respectively.