Alexa Sportsman of the year Ruman Sana, Cricketer Shakib

Dhaka, Monday   17 February 2020


Sportsman of the year Ruman Sana, Cricketer Shakib

 Sports Correspondent

 Published: 10:39 PM, 24 January 2020   Updated: 10:41 PM, 24 January 2020

Photo: Collected

Photo: Collected

Bangladesh Sports Press Association (BSPA) has been regularly awarded the best athletes and sports-related people since 1964. In continuation, the awards ceremony was held on Friday of 2019. Archer Ruman Sana was selected as the best athlete last year. He also received the ‘Popular Choice Award’ by direct vote of the sports fans.

The Kool-BSPA Sports Awards-2019 was ceremonially handed over this afternoon at a hotel in the capital. Apart from Roman Sana, the sports personality, including the sponsor received the award for the year of their respective events.

BSPA President Mostafa Mamun presided over the function while Managing Director of Square Toiletries Limited Anjan Chowdhury and AIPS Asia President Sattam Alsehali were present as the honorary guests in the function and announced the names of best sportsmen of the year.

Best athlete: Ruman Sana
Popular Choice Award: Ruman Sana
Cricket: Shakib Al Hasan
Football: Jamal Bhuyan
Weightlifter: Mabia Akter Shimanto
Karate: Humayara Akter Antora
Fencing: Fatema Mujib
Archery: Ety Khatun
Taekwondo: Dipu Chakma
Best Coach: Martin Federica
Best Organizer: Kazi Rajib Uddin Ahmed Chapal
Sports Personalities: Rafiq Ullah, Akhter Milon
Special Honorary: Abdul Jalil
Best Sponsor: City Group