Speaker casts vote at Laldighee High School in Pirganj

Dhaka, Monday   17 June 2019

Speaker casts vote at Laldighee High School in Pirganj

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 11:22 AM, 30 December 2018   Updated: 11:22 AM, 30 December 2018

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Jatiya Sangsad Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury cast her vote at Laldighee High School polling center in Pirganj upazila in the eleventh Jatiya Sangsad elections today.

The Speaker cast her vote at the polling center under Rangpur-6 (Pirganj) constituency around 8:19 in the morning.

After casting her vote, Dr Shirin told media that the polling is continuing peacefully in a congenial and festive atmosphere and free, fair and transparent manner.

“A huge number of people are exercising their franchise by casting vote,” she said and expressed satisfaction over the peaceful environment prevailing in different polling centers in the constituency.

The Speaker also hoped that the Awami League (AL)-led grand alliance will come out as the winner with the people’s mandate in the eleventh parliamentary election to form the government under the leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.

Senior Vice-president of district AL Chhayadat Hossain Bakul, Acting President of Pirganj upazila AL Azizur Rahman Ranga, its General Secretary and Pirganj municipal mayor Tazimul Islam Shamim, President of Pirganj upazila Mohila AL Johra Begum, former Pirganj upazila AL President Rawshan Ara Wahed, AL leader and industrialist Sayed Reza Shanto, Jubo League leader and General Secretary of Pirganj Press Club Mazharul Islam Milon, among others, were present.

Later, the Speaker went to different polling centers of her constituency and expressed satisfaction over the huge enthusiasm and presence of a huge number of male and female voters in every polling center.

A total of two lakh 92 thousand and 994 voters, including one lakh 45 thousand and 326 males and one lakh 47 thousand and 668 females are expected to cast their votes at 107 polling centers in Rangpur-6 constituency this time.

Daily Bangladesh/Sohug