Alexa Sheikh Jamal clinch DPL title

Dhaka, Sunday   22 September 2019


Sheikh Jamal clinch DPL title

 Sports Desk

 Published: 09:58 PM, 4 March 2019  

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club clinched the inaugural Dhaka Premier Division (DPL) Twenty20 Cricket League title beating Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club by 24 runs at Mirpur, Dhaka today. 

After winning the toss Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club elected to bat first and posted 157/7 in 20 overs. Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club were restricted to 133/8 by Sheikh Jamal bowlers. 

Imtiaz Hossain was the top scorer for Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club. Scored 56 off 44 with 2 sixes and 4 fours. He and Fardeen Hasan made a 62-run opening stand. Then Sheikh Jamal lost some quick wickets.

But Skiper Nurul Hasan's (33 off 27) and Tanvir Hayder's  (31 off 15) helped them to post a fighting total. 

Prime Doleshwar skipper Farhad Reza bagged 3 for 32. 

Chasing the target Saif Hassan (26 off 28) and Mohammad Arafat (33 off 23) gave good start before Mohammad Arafat retired hurt. 

After losing Saif Hasan and Arafat Doleshwar lose some quick wickets from 62/0 to they lost 5 to 88. Skipper Farhad Reza fought alone but no other fellow help him to build partnership and Doleshwar restricted to 133/8.

Pacer Shahidul Islam bagged 4 wickets for 19 runs.