Alexa Shakib included in CWC19 best XI

Dhaka, Friday   23 August 2019


Shakib included in CWC19 best XI

 Sports Desk

 Published: 06:13 PM, 15 July 2019   Updated: 06:24 PM, 15 July 2019

File Photo

File Photo

International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the best XI after the ICC World Cup 2019 final held on Sunday. Shakib Al Hasan has been named in the ICC World Cup 2019 team of the tournament by ICC, after his brilliant stint in the tournament. He is the only Bangladesh player to be named on the squad.

The ace all-rounder, Shakib missed out on the Player of the Tournament award to New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson despite having scored 606 runs with two centuries, seven half-centuries and taking 11 wickets in the mega event. However, he did make his cut into the best XI of the tournament along with the likes of highest run-getter of the tournament, Rohit Sharma and highest wicket-taker Mitchell Starc.

Four of the best XI players are from England and two players from New Zealand, India, and Australia each.

Best XI of the ICC World Cup 2019: 1. Rohit Sharma (India), 2. Jason Roy (England), 
3. Kane Williamson (New Zealand), 4. Joe Root (England), 5. Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh), 6. Ben Stokes (England), 7. Alex Carey (Australia), 8. Mitchell Starc (Australia), 9. Jofra Archer (England), 10. Lockie Ferguson (New Zealand), 11. Jasprit Bumrah (India)

The 12th man is Trent Boult (New Zealand).