Shakib, Imrul back for Sri Lanka ODI series...

Dhaka, Tuesday   15 June 2021

Shakib, Imrul back for Sri Lanka ODI series

 Sports Desk

 Published: 05:56 PM, 1 May 2021   Updated: 07:27 PM, 1 May 2021

Shakib, Imrul back for Sri Lanka ODI series

Shakib, Imrul back for Sri Lanka ODI series

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced a 23-man preliminary squad ahead of Sri Lanka's ODI tour of Bangladesh 2021. All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan and Left-handed opener Imrul Kayes have been recalled for the three-match ODI series.

BCB announced the squad on Saturday afternoon.

"We want to have a look at Imrul considering he is scoring runs at domestic level and see where he stands," BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin said.

Imrul last played in OID against the West Indies at home in 2018. The Kolkata Test was Imrul's last match for the country in the 2019 tour of India. The left-arm opener returned to the national team after almost two years.

Pacer Shahidul Islam gets maiden call up for the ODIs. Who also part of the Bangladesh preliminary squad for the two-match Test series against Sri Lanka.

Members of the ODI squad who are not part of the Test squad that is currently involved in a two-match Test series against Sri Lanka in Kandy will start their preparation at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium from May 2.

Bangladesh players are expected to arrive from Sri Lanka and join the preliminary squad members on May 7. The cricketers will then go for a one-week Eid vacation from May 10.

Sri Lanka are scheduled to arrive on May 16. After a three-day hotel quarantine, they will start their preparation from May 20.

Bangladesh squad members will play an intra-squad practice game on May 20 at BKSP while Sri Lanka will play a practice match at the same venue on the following day. The three ODIs are scheduled at SBNS on May 21, 23, and 28.

Shakib Al Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman, who are currently in the IPL, will have to return from the tournament as they are included in the preliminary squad. Shakib is granted NOC till May 18.

ODI Squad: Tamim Iqbal Khan, Naim Sheikh, Imrul Kayes, Litton Kumer Das, Soumya Sarkar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Md Mithun, Mahmud Ullah, Afif Hossain Dhrubo, Musaddek Hossain Saikat, Sheikh Mahedi Hasan, Mehidy Hassan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Shaif Uddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Shohidul Islam