Dhaka, Sunday   17 February 2019

Seven candidates appealed in Sylhet

 Sylhet Correspondent

 Published: 06:21 PM, 4 December 2018   Updated: 06:21 PM, 4 December 2018

Seven candidates appealed to the Election Commission (EC) to get back the candidacy on the first day in Sylhet.

The candidates are Sylhet-5 Fayzul Monir Chowdhury, Sylhet-3 Kayium Chowdhury, Moulvibazar-2 Mahibul Kadir Chowdhury, Habiganj-2 BNP nominated candidate Zakir Hossain, Habiganj-1 Oikyafront’s candidate Reza Kibria and Islami Oikya Jote’s Jobayer Ahmed and Habiganj-4 Islami Oikya Jote’s Maulana Md. Solaiman Khan.

In the selection phase, 43 candidates get the nomination from Sylhet division.  The nomination of 15 people from six seats has been canceled. 5 out of 4 parliamentary constituencies in Moulvibazar district were canceled. The nominations of 11 candidates of 5 seats of Sunamganj were canceled. In Habiganj, 12 nomination papers of four parliamentary seats were canceled.

Nomination cancellation candidates can be appeal till Wednesday. On December 6, 7 and 8, the commission will settle the nomination through hearing.