Seven ‘media boss’ in cabinet

Dhaka, Thursday   27 June 2019

Seven ‘media boss’ in cabinet

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 08:57 PM, 6 January 2019   Updated: 09:04 PM, 6 January 2019

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

There are seven media bosses have been included in the new cabinet of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad; three full ministers, three state ministers and one deputy minister.

On Sunday Afternoon, the names of new ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers including respective ministries have been announced.

They are; the local government, rural development and cooperatives minister, Tajul Islam. He has been elected from Comilla-9 constituency. Md. Tajul Islam is the owner of Daily ‘Protidiner Songbad’.

Golam Dastagir Gazi is another media boss in the newly selected cabinet while given the responsibility of the Ministry of Textile and Jute. He is elected from Narayanganj 1 seat. He is the president of several media organizations. Gazi has owned GTV, Sarabangla (online magazine), and Daily Sarbangla (under publication).

Meanwhile, SM Rezaul Karim was elected from Pirojpur-1 constituency. He got the responsibility of the Ministry of Housing and Public Works. He is the chief of a daily named ‘Ajker Darpan’.

Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury has been selected as the State Minister of the Ministry of Shipping. He has been elected from Dinajpur-2 constituency. A TV named ‘Rangdhanu’ got approval in his ownership.

Md Shahriyaya Alam is the owner of ‘Duranta TV’. He has been appointed as State Minister for Foreign Affairs. He is  elected from Rajshahi-6 constituency.

Kamal Ahmed Majumder has been selected as the state minister of ‘Industries’ ministry. He is the owner of Mohona TV. Kamal Ahmed Majumder is elected from Dhaka-15.

Besides, Mahibul Hasan Chowdhury has been selected as the deputy Minister of the Education ministry. He has been elected from Chittagong-9 constituency.  'Vijay TV' is in his ownership.

There are 25 Ministers including PM, 19 State Ministers and 3 Deputy Ministers have been made in the 11th Parliament.