Alexa Selima,Tuku in BNP’s standing committee

Dhaka, Sunday   18 August 2019


Selima,Tuku in BNP’s standing committee

 News Desk

 Published: 05:51 PM, 19 June 2019   Updated: 05:54 PM, 19 June 2019

Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku(left) and Selima Rahman, File Photo

Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku(left) and Selima Rahman, File Photo

After over three years of the party’s national council, Selima Rahman and Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku have been made BNP’s standing committee members.

Party’s senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi came up with the announcement at a press conference at BNP’s Nayapaltan central office on Wednesday.

“Our party’s different committees were reconstituted after our council, and some posts remained vacant in the national standing committee. Our some senior leaders also died by the time. Two of our leaders have been appointed in the vacant posts of the standing committee,” he said.

After BNP’s council on March 19, 2016, the party announced the names of 17 standing committee members out of 19 posts of the party’s highest policy making body.

Selima Rahman and Iqbal Hassan Mahmud were made vice-chairmen at that time.

Of the 17-stading committee members, ASM Hannan Shah, MK Anwar and Tariqul Islam died at different times.

With the appointment of the duo, the total number of the BNP standing committee members now has risen to 16.

They are Khaleda Zia, Tarique Rahman, Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain, Moudud Ahmed, Jamiruddin Sircar, Mahbubur Rahman, Rafiqul Islam Miah, Mirza Abbas, Gayeshwar Chandra Roy, Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan, Nazrul Islam Khan, Amir Khosru Mahmud Chowdhury, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir and Salahuddin Ahmed, Selima Rahman and Iqbal Hasan Mahmud Tuku.

There was a speculation that BNP vice chairmen Abdullah Al Noman and Hafizuddin Ahmed would be included in the standing committee.

Party insiders said the leaders and activists loyal to the duo got disappointed as Noman and Hafiz were overlooked this time, too.