Alexa Russell hero as Rajshahi through final

Dhaka, Saturday   29 February 2020


Russell hero as Rajshahi through final

 Sports Desk

 Published: 11:11 PM, 15 January 2020  

File Photo

File Photo

A tornado innings of 22-ball 54 by skipper Andre Russell enabled Rajshahi Royals to stay in the title race eliminating Chattogram Challengers of the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier Leauge (BBPL) at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium today.

Replying to Chattogram Challengers 164/8, Royals chased down the target keeping 4 balls and 2 wickets in hand on the back of some blistering knocks from their batsmen.

Rajshahi Royals lost opener Afif Hossain to 8 runs in the 2nd over. Liton Das also being dismissed by a brilliant through by Mehedi Hasan Rana and Royals lost their 2nd wicket to 14. They also lost Alok Kapali to 34. One down batsman Irfan Sukkur made some resistance with Shoaib Malik making a 46-run stand. But their resist did not last long as Malik being dismissed by Ziaur Rahman scoring 14 off 22. Irfan Sukur also being dismissed by Mehedi Hasan Rana scoring 45 off 42.

Then it was thought that Rajshahi is going to lose the match as they needed about 14 runs per over. But Skipper Russell's 54* off 22 with seven sixes and two fours and Mohammad Nawaz(3)'s 5-ball 14 helped Rajshahi to win the match.

Rubel Hossain, Rayad Emrit bagged 2 wickets each while Mehedi Hasan Rana, Mahmudullah and Ziaur Rahman took one wicket each. 

Chris Gayle and Ziaur Rahman put up 42 runs in the first wicket stand. Ziaur smashed 25 off 12 balls with three fours and two sixes before falling prey to Mahedi Hasan.

In the second wicket, Imrul Kayes and Gayle added 49 runs. Imrul was dismissed by Pakistan spinner Shadab Khan after scoring 32 off 22 balls with one four and three sixes- two off Mashrafe Bin Mortaza.

Earlier, West Indian CH Gayle's 60 off 24 gave Chattogram Challengers to a fighting total at Dhaka, today.

After winning the toss Rajshahi Royals asked Chattogram Challengers to bat first and they post 164/9 in 20 over.

Chattogram lost opener Ziaur Rahman (6) to 22 and Imrul Kayes to 45. But Gayle and skipper Mahmudullah made 52 runs in the 3rd wicket stand.

After losing the wicket of Gayle Chattogram lost skipper Mahmudullah to 114. Before going out to Mohammad Nawaz Riyad made 18-ball 33. Then DAS Gunaratne (31 off 25) able to score double-digit and Chattogram finished their innings on 164/9.

Mohammad Irfan and Mohammad Nawaz(3) bagged 2 wickets each.