Alexa Rajshahi lift BPL crown

Dhaka, Friday   28 February 2020


Rajshahi lift BPL crown

 Sports Desk

 Published: 10:56 PM, 17 January 2020   Updated: 11:13 PM, 17 January 2020

File Photo

File Photo

All-round Andre Russell leads Rajshahi Royals to crown the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) title for the first time beating Khulna Tigers by 21 runs in the final match at Mirpur, today.

Chasing the target 170/4 set up by Rajshahi, Khulna Tigers able to score 149/8 in 20 overs.

Chasing the target Khulna Tigers lost opener Najmul Hossain Shanto (0) in the second ball of the innings and Miraz in the 5th ball of the 2nd over. 

Rilee Rossouw and Shamsur Rahman made 74-run stand in the 3rd wicket stand. Rilee Rossouw scored 37 off 26 balls before being dismissed by Mohammad Nawaz. Shamsur Rahman also follows him and being dismissed by Kamrul Islam Rabbi scoring 52 off 43. 

Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim (21) tried to rebuild the innings but he went out to Russell and Khulna's hope to win the title also ended. They were able to score 149/8 in 20 over.

Mohammad Irfan, AD Russell, and Kamrul Islam Rabbi took 2 wickets each for Rajshahi Royals.

Earlier, Rajshahi Royals have posted 170/4 to win for Khulna Tigers in the Bangabandhu BPL final at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium today.

After winning the toss Khulna skipper Mushfiqur Rahim asked Rajshahi Royals to bat first.

Mohammad Amir gives early breakthrough picking up the wicket of Afif Hossain in his 2nd over and Rajshahi lost their first wicket to 14. From here, Liton Das and Irfan Sukkur rebuild for Rajshahi adding 49 runs in the 2nd wicket stand. Liton went out by Shahidul Islam. He pulled straight to deep square leg. The one-time Liton makes sweet connection he picks out the fielder. Short ball, he got into a nice position and pulled the ball, but it carried nicely to the man on the boundary 63/2. 

Irfan Sukur and Shoaib Malik added 31 runs in the 3rd wicket stand. Malik being dismissed scoring just 9 runs. Irfan also follows him and went out scoring 52 off 35. 

It was thought that Rajshahi could not score 150 but with the late blitz from AD Russell (26 off 14) and Mohammad Nawaz( 41 off 20) they posted 170/4 in 20 over.

For Khulna, Mohammad Amir bagged two wickets for 35 While R Frylinck and Shahidul Islam bagged one wicket each.