Alexa Pro-AL teachers panel wins DUTA election

Dhaka, Monday   17 February 2020


Pro-AL teachers panel wins DUTA election

 News Desk

 Published: 08:15 PM, 30 December 2019   Updated: 08:15 PM, 30 December 2019

Photo: Collected

Photo: Collected

Pro-Awami League ‘Blue’ Panel teachers swept the Dhaka University Teachers' Association (DUTA) election on Monday.

The panel achieved 14 posts in the 15-member executive committee while the ‘White’ panel backed by BNP-Jamaat secured only one.

Prof ASM Maksud Kamal of Disaster Science and Management Department was elected president for the fourth consecutive time securing 933 votes while his rival Prof Laila Nur Islam of "White" panel bagged 438 votes.

Prof Md Nizamul Hoque Bhuiyan of Institute of Nutrition and Food Science, won the post of general secretary with 729 votes, defeating Prof Hasanuzzan of the "White" panel who secured 643 votes.

BNP-Jamaat-e-Islami-backed ‘White’ Panel bagged only the vice-president post with Professor Lutfor Rahman of Statistics Department defeating Social Science Faculty Dean Prof Sadeka Halim.

Besides, Prof Z. M. Parvez Sazzad was elected joint secretary while Prof Muhammad Abdul Moyeen won the treasurer post.

All the ten executive members elected from the "Blue" panel are: Prof Aftab Ali Shaikh, Prof Nisar Hosain, Prof Zinat Huda, Prof Ziaur Rahman, Prof K M Saiful Islam Khan, Prof Mamtaz Uddin Ahmed, Prof Mohammad Amzad Ali, Prof Soumitra Shekhar, Prof Shibli Rubayat Ul Islam and Prof Zakia Parveen.

A total of 1434 teachers out of 2011 cast their votes in the election.