President calls Sheikh Hasina to form government

Dhaka, Thursday   27 June 2019

President calls Sheikh Hasina to form government

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 06:44 PM, 3 January 2019   Updated: 07:43 PM, 3 January 2019

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

President M Abdul Hamid has called Awami League (AL) President Sheikh Hasina for the formation of the government as the AL members got the majority for the 11th National Parliament.  

Awami League president and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina went to meet President M Abdul Hamid at Bangabhaban on Thursday at 4:30 pm.

Press wing of the President’s Office confirmed this information.

Earlier, The newly-elected lawmakers to the parliament were sworn in on Thursday. The oath-taking ceremony was held at 11:10 am.

Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury conducted the oath at the 'Oath Room' in the parliament building. The outgoing Speaker first took oath herself as an MP and then administered the oath to other AL MPs at the Oath Room of the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban.

Earlier on Wednesday, the election commission (EC) has published the Gazette containing the names and addresses of candidates of 298 constituencies. On the same day, the Gazette had been sent to JS Secretariat.

The polling was held between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm peacefully amid a festivity in 299 seats out of total 300 on Sunday last as voting in Gaibandha-3 constituency was suspended due to death of a candidate earlier. 

However, the results of Brahmanbaria-2 constituency was postponed as voting in three centers of the constituency was suspended.

According to the results of the poll, Awami League bagged 259 seats, HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party secured 20 seats while BNP got just five seats.

Workers Party bagged three seats while Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal two seats, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh two seats and Tariqat Federation one seat.

Gonoforum bagged two seats while Manju-led Jatiya Party (JP) one seat and independent candidates got three seats.