Preparation for Dhaka-10 by-polls completed: Returning Officer

Dhaka, Wednesday   08 April 2020


Preparation for Dhaka-10 by-polls completed: Returning Officer

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 10:14 PM, 19 February 2020  

Photo: DailyBangladesh

Photo: DailyBangladesh

Returning Officer GM Shahatab Uddin said today was the last day of filing nomination papers for the by-elections in Dhaka-10 JS seat. Six candidates have collected nomination papers today and two candidates from Awami League and BNP submitted their nomination papers. We have completed our initial preparations. 

The returning officer said these at his office at the ETI building in Agargaon on Wednesday.

At that time, he said, we have selected the polling station and voting will be held in this constituency through electronic voting machines (EVMs) in all 117 centers.

Besides Awami League and BNP candidates, Haji Md. Shahjahan of Jatiya Party, Nawab Khwaja Ali Hassan Asiqar of Bangladesh Muslim League, Mizanur Rahman Chowdhury of  Bangladesh Congress and Abdul Mannan have collected nomination forms as an independent candidate.

Dhaka-10 JS seat declared vacant after Fazle Noor Tapash resigned from the post to run mayoral post of Dhaka South City Corporation.