Prep for newly MPs’ sworn completed

Dhaka, Monday   17 June 2019

Oath to be held tomorrow 11:00 am

Prep for newly MPs’ sworn completed

 Staff Correspondent :: staff-correspondent

 Published: 02:54 PM, 2 January 2019   Updated: 05:11 PM, 2 January 2019

Daily Bangladesh Desk

Daily Bangladesh Desk

MPs who came to victorious in the 11th parliamentary elections will take oath on Thursday at 11:00 am tomorrow. According to the rules, the speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury will read the oath of new MPs in the oath room of Parliament House. The Parliament Secretariat has completed all the necessary preparations for this.

After the ceremony, a meeting of the ruling Awami League's parliamentary board will be held. The leader of the parliament will be elected in the meeting.

Election Commission (EC) Secretariat has sent a letter to the Speaker to prepare for these issues. EC Secretary Helaluddin Ahmad said this on Wednesday.

The EC Secretary told reporters that a letter has been given to the Speaker of the Parliament to prepare the oath for the new MPs. The newly elected MPs will take oath at 11:00 pm tomorrow. The Gazette has already been released on Tuesday night.

The sources of Parliament Secretariat said that the session of the new parliament will be held before the expiry of the current parliament's term. The current tenure of the current parliament will end on January 28.

The first session of the 10th Parliament formed on Jan 5, 2018, started on January 29. According to the constitution, the oaths are compulsory within three days of gazette publication [Article 148 (2)] of parliamentary elections. Then there is a provision for sitting session of parliament [paragraph 72 (2)] within 30 days.

Deputy Speaker of the Parliament Fazle Rabbi Miah told reporters that according to the directives of the constitution, the oath of the winning MPs will be held in three days of the Gazette publication. Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury will read their oath. Before this, she will take oath as she was elected MP.

Awami League MPs get the maximum number of seats for the first oath. As the number of MPs is higher, they may be sworn in a few phases. After getting their sworn oath, the Jatiya Party (JaPa), the second highest seats and then the other MPs will take the oath.

The Parliament Secretariat sources said that the MPs of the winners have already been told to take the oath. Speaker and deputy speaker will be elected in the first session of the new parliament. The President will recite the oath to the new speaker.

JaPa Secretary General Mashiur Rahman Ranga told reporters that according to the constitution we can be an opposition party, there is no confusion in it. Discuss with the Grand Alliance and sit with the presidium of the party, we will decide whether we will go to the opposition or will be part of the government.

Earlier on Dec 30, the 11th parliamentary elections were held. Awami League-led grand alliance won 288 seats in the elections. Of these, the Awami League alone won 257 seats. With the single majority, the party is going to form a government for the third time. In this election, BNP-led alliance Jatiya Oikyafront got 7 seats. Of which, BNP has got 5 sears. The JaPa has become the second largest party with only 22 seats in the election.