Polling underway peacefully in Dhaka 5 by-polls...

Dhaka, Friday   23 October 2020

Polling underway peacefully in Dhaka 5 by-polls

 Staff Correspondent daily-bangladesh.com

 Published: 12:50 PM, 17 October 2020   Updated: 05:50 PM, 17 October 2020

Photo: Daily Bangladesh

Photo: Daily Bangladesh

Polling in the by-elections to Dhaka-5 constituency is continuing peacefully, ADC of Jatrabari Zone Saiful Islam said on Saturday. 

While inspecting several centres in the constituency, he said that voting has started at the scheduled time in the morning. So far no violence has been reported anywhere. Security has been tightened in the area. Additional members of the law enforcement forces have been deployed.  

 The polling began at 9:00 am and will be continued till 5:00 pm through using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). 

A total of six candidates are contesting in Dhaka-5 constituency. 

They are - Awami League (AL) backed M Kazi Monirul Islam, BNP nominated Salah Uddin Ahmed, Gonofront backed HM Ibrahim Bhuiyan, Jatiya Party nominated Mir Abdus Sabur, M Ansar Rahman Shikder of Bangladesh Congress and M Arifur Rahman alias Suman Master of Bangladesh Peoples Party. 

The seat becomes vacant after the death of Habibur Rahman Mollah in Dhaka on May 8. 

According to Election Commission (EC), voting is being held in 187 polling stations in 14 wards in Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC). There are 471,129 voters here. 

In order to maintain law and order, two Judicial Magistrates and 14 Executive Magistrates have been serving in the Dhaka-5 elections since October 15. The official campaign ended in both the seats from 9:00 am on Thursday. Some public transport has been banned from midnight on Friday to midnight on Saturday. 

Jatrabari Police Station OC Mazharul Islam and other police officials were present while inspecting various by-election centres in Dhaka-5 constituency.