Players who played in T20 WC 2007, will also feature in 2021...

Dhaka, Sunday   28 November 2021

Players who played in T20 WC 2007, will also feature in T20 WC 2021

 Sports Desk

 Published: 08:46 PM, 16 October 2021  

File Photo

File Photo

The seventh edition of the Twenty20 World Cup is knocking at the door. The prestigious tournament is all set to commence at Oman tomorrow. Bangladesh will take on Scotland in the day's second match at 8pm Bangladesh Time. All the 16 participant nations have announced their squads ahead of the commencement.

There are some players who have been a pivotal part of their respective sides and hence their inclusion in the squad is a must. We’ll have a look at 8 such players who played T20 World Cup 2007 and will also play T20 World Cup 2021.

1 – Mahmudullah

Mahmudullah will captain Bangladesh this time

The veteran all-rounder, Mahmudullah has been named as the captain of Bangladesh in the upcoming T20 World Cup.

Mahmudullah played in the T20 World Cup 2007 and since then he has never looked back. However, the all-rounder announced his retirement from Test cricket, but his significance in the shorter format of the game is high.

2 – Shakib Al Hasan

The all-rounder from Bangladesh, Shakib Al Hasan played for the tigers in T20 World Cup 2007. The Southpaw bats up the order and also provides vital breakthroughs.

Currently, the number 2 all-rounder in the ICC T20I rankings is included in the National side for the upcoming T20 World Cup. Fans will expect the same form from Shakib which he showed in ICC World Cup 2019.

3 – Mushfiqur Rahim

The third Bangladeshi in the list is the wicket-keeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim. Rahim was the part of Bangladesh team in T20 WC 2007 alongside Shakib and Mahmudullah.

Mushfiqur Rahim has a lot of experience in this game. The marquee player will play for the side in T20 World Cup 2021. However, his performance in T20Is has not been eye-catching. The wicket-keeper batter has scored 1321 runs at an average of below 20.

4. Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma made his T20I debut in the T20 World Cup 2007. Currently the opener, used to bat in the lower middle order for India in that tournament.

He registered his first half-century against South Africa in T20 WC 2007 and also played a cameo of 30 runs in the finals. He is now a salient part of team India and will take the ground as a vice-captain in T20 World Cup 2021.

5 – Mohammad Hafeez

The all-rounder from Pakistan first played a T20I match in the year 2006. His performance in his debut grabbed the eyes of selectors and hence he was named in the squad for T20 World Cup 2007.

The 40-year old bats in the top order and also provides a spin bowling option. The professor is included in Pakistan’s squad for T20 World Cup 2021 also.

6 – Chris Gayle

The 42-year old left-hander will be playing for West Indies in T20 World Cup 2021. The universe boss made T20I debut in 2006 against New Zealand.

Chris Gayle also featured in T20 World Cup 2007 and slammed 57 ball 117 in the opening match of the tournament against South Africa. The explosive opener is hopeful of playing such knocks in the upcoming tournament.

7 – Dwayne Bravo

The all-rounder from Trinidad, Dwayne Bravo has proved his mettle in the toughest scenarios. The 37-year old conceded 39 off just 16 deliveries he bowled in the run-fest against South Africa in the first match of T20 World Cup 2007.

His performance in this format has been exceptionally good. In the ongoing season of IPL 2021, Bravo has bagged crucial wickets for CSK. With nearly 550 wickets and over 6500 runs in this format, Dj Bravo is one of the prominent players for the Windies.

Bravo announced his retirement in the year 2018 but later changed the plans. In 2019, he made a comeback in international cricket in order to prepare for the T20 World Cup. The all-rounder is named in the squad for T20 World Cup 2021.

8 – Ravi Rampaul

Another Caribbean in the list is Ravi Rampaul who featured in the West Indies side along with Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo in T20 WC 2007.

He last played a T20I match in 2015, but his performance in the T20 leagues helped him regain his spot in the side for T20 World Cup 2021.

9 – Shoaib Malik

Shoaib Malik captained Pakistan in the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup. Pakistan became runers up under his capacity in 2007. Malik scored 195 runs and took 2 wickets in that edition of the T20I World Cup. This time he was not included in the Pakistan squad but later added in place of Shoiab Maqssod who was ruled out due to injury.