Alexa Parash elected Jubo League chairman

Dhaka, Wednesday   22 January 2020


Parash elected Jubo League chairman

 Staff Correspondent

 Published: 04:17 PM, 23 November 2019   Updated: 05:23 PM, 23 November 2019

Photo: DailyBangladesh

Photo: DailyBangladesh

Sheikh Fazle Shams Parash and Mainul Khan Nikhil have been elected as the new chairman and general secretary of Awami Jubo League respectively.

Awami League general secretary and road transport and bridge minister Obaidul Quader announced their name as the chairman and the general secretary at the second session of the Jubo League's third annual conference at the Engineers' Institution on Saturday. 

Parash, the eldest son of Jubo League founder Sheikh Fazlul Haque Moni, was elected unopposed during its 7th national congress. While seven name was proposed for the post of general secretary. These are - Mainul Khan Nikhil, Mohiuddin Mahi, Advocate Belal Hossain, Subrata Pal, Manjurul Alam Shaheen, Iqbal Mahmood Bablu and Badiul Alam Badi.

Earlier, Moinul Khan served as the president of Dhaka Metropolitan North Jubo League. 

The Awami League was seeking a clean image leader as many top leaders of Jubo League were controversial in the recent anti-casino campaign. From the very beginning, Sheikh Fazle Shams Parash was in the discussion for the post.

Awami League joint general secretary Mahbubul Hanif, Jahangir Kabir Nanak, Abdur Rahman, Ahmed Hossain, BM Mozammel Haque, AFM Bahauddin Nasim, office secretary Abdus Sobahan Golap were present.